Testimonials

Good job

Hi Russell and Karen,
My new machines from SMD, namely a Janome MXL50 computerised sewing machine and a Brother Innovis 97e Embroidery Machine arrived yesterday, along with my fabulous bonus freebie gifts and I'm absolutely thrilled! I haven't had a chance to try them as yet, but have had them out of their boxes to check them over and I'm so impressed with the quality of both of the machines. I can't thank you both enough for all of the help and advice you've given me over the past year, Russell earlier in the year and Karen more recently, because I've now found exactly what I've been looking for in the Janome MXL50 and the Brother Emb. Machine is something I've really wanted for a long time but never dared commit to due to the cost; your offers on both machines have now enabled me to fulfil a long held dream! The bonus gifts are just amazing and I can't believe how lucky I am! Christmas has definitely come early for me!

These days it's very unusual to find a Company as efficient, courteous and as helpful as yours and I'm incredibly impressed and grateful to have found you. That said, I will have no hesitation in returning should I wish to purchase anything more in the future and will definitely be recommending you highly to my family and friends. Thankyou so much for your patience !

A.H. East Yorkshire (10th November 2017)   Product purchased: Janome MXL50 Sewing Machine

Hi Russell
I just wanted to say a huge thank you to yourself and Karen.
Karen was extremely helpful when I was trying to choose a new machine. She even answered my email when she wasn’t in the office.
This is the 3rd machine I’ve purchased from you and I have no doubt I’ll be using you again.
I cannot praise you and your staff enough.
I’m sorry this is a very late email but I’ve been busy with our second grandson, now 3 weeks old. The only thing I managed to do was some tiny sheets for his Baby Nest I made.

C.R. Basingstoke (6th November 2017)

Thank you Russell for advice and sourcing the Horn Hobby Chair which was delivered direct from Horn today. Delivery was very quick. As well as being comfortable whilst working I have 'eye candy' for the sewing room ;). I recommend your business to anyone looking for machines or associated items for sewing or machine embroidery. SMD know the products they sell and are happy to offer advice.

V.D. North Yorkshire (2nd November 2017)   Product purchased: Horn Furniture The Hobby Chair

Oh my goodness! My sewing machine has arrived! Amazing because deliveries to us usually take much longer. I’m very impressed!

I have unpacked it and it all looks perfect. I shan’t use it for a while, as it’s my Christmas present. It’s going to be difficult to resist but I must and I can look forward to having lots of fun with it at Christmas 🎄

Thank you again and best wishes to you all at SMD.

G.R. Kerry (1st November 2017)   Product purchased: Janome MXL50 Sewing Machine

Just a short note but a big THANK YOU for such prompt and speedy delivery of my sewing machine. Wow. Spectacular. Really appreciated this wonderful service.

R.Y. Leicester (30th October 2017)

Hi there,
Well here I am with my long overdue feedback on my Jamone Sewing machine model J3-24. Sorry it's taken so long. Can't believe it was April when I purchased it. Was busy quite soon after my purchase with holidays a Wedding in Cornwall & lots of hospital appointments for my husband. He was then in hospital all of August coming out in September, so my time has been taken up.
I had used my machine for odd repair jobs , but last night I made a 70s disco shirt for my Son for where it pink day for today, & was very pleased how the machine operated.

Right my review.

I was very pleased with the operating of the machine.Very smooth running. Absolutely love the needle threader .Threading of it was easy,I really thought I wouldn't remember how to do it , but I threaded it first time last night, which was fantastic as I was the only one up & normally would just have had to keep trying with my old machines. I must admit as yet I have only used straight stitching & zigzag , but now I've got back into making things I'm sure I will use other things. I found the instruction book easy to follow. I will look forward to using the blind hemmer , which I think will be most useful.The Lightness of the machine is brilliant. No lugging about.Just love the box of cottons & so useful to have all the scissors.

There was the odd thing that I found not as good as other machines I have used.
I wonder why the presser foot lifter is in such an awkward position. I find it most uncomfortable. Any other machine I have used it has always been at the back , kind of behind the needle, & I would use my right hand to put it up or down. I still go for that same spot, I expect I will iventually get used to it. Perhaps modern machines are all in the same position as this now days & I guess it's what I've been used too.
I really miss having a place the right hand side below the hand wheel to put my tools bobbins & scissors etc. I know I could put stuff in the extension table but don't find it very accessible. My husband has bought me a wooden sewing box, so getting used to that, but still tend to automatically go to the right hand side for things, again I guess I will eventually get used to it.
My only other moan is the case. I find it a bit slow to lift the handle on the machine when putting it away & try to push the foot control wires & plug in. I seem to keep trapping them, then the Handle falls down so I start again. On saying that , of cause I realise that if it had a cover as I've been used to it would be so much heavier. I guess you can't have everything, & like I said earlier I love that it's so easy to move around.

Hope you don't mind me being critical of the odd thing. I enjoyed using my machine last night , & look forward to using it a lot more.
Regards

P.B. Leicester (19th October 2017)   Product purchased: Janome J3-24 Sewing Machine

Thank you so much for the wonderful janome dks100 special edition. It is perfect so far and sews extremely well, even making sewing effortless.
All the extras were an added bonus and I am truly delighted with the service with sewing machine direct and can't thank you all enough.
Kind regards

S.G, Herts (9th October 2017)   Product purchased: Janome DKS100 Sewing Machine SPECIAL EDITION

Hi, I just wanted to say a huge thank you to all of you for your patience and help over the last week with my orders and returns. As always SMD have been simply amazing. Over on the Sewing in the UK FB page...SMD are the heros of the hour...there are so many votes of confidence and recommendations for SMD and I have always recommended you..even more so after my latest experiences. Thank you so much again you've all been so great. Can I just say a particular thank you for your kindness to Rebecca! I love the new machine and all the bits that came with it...thank you Rebecca I really do appreciate all that you have done. 
You really are the very best SMD ! I have completed a Trust Pilot review 5/5 of course.
Thanks again I may be back but now have 4 machines so maybe not just yet!!!

M.R. East Sussex (29th September 2017)   Product purchased: Janome MXL50 Sewing Machine

Hello,and thank you very much for perfect job my experience was wery good,from the first minute,when i make my order.I get all information about delivery and it come on time withouth any problems stright to my house.I will recomend Sewing Machines Direct company also for my friends.Thank you.

R.M. Lithuania (24th September 2017)   Product purchased: Frister & Rossmann Jaguar 234DF Knitlock Overlocker

After deciding to replace an old Brother machine inherited from my mother. I went to the SMD website, finding it very helpful & informative about which sewing machine & what to spend. I e-mailed them for info about the SMD2000 I was interested in & got a prompt & helpful reply. I duly ordered the SMD2000 which arrived next day. The box had a small bash on the side but the machine was unharmed, not SMD's fault! Later, delivered the same day was a big box of large reels of thread, a scissors set & a bag of sewing aids (seam ripper, tape measure etc) - very generous free gift. I sat down with the instruction book and got to know the machine, seems just what I want, have already done auto buttonholes and some stitching. The instruction book is good and the machine seems to work well. So far would thoroughly recommend SMD.

V.W. West Lothian (21st September 2017)   Product purchased: Janome SMD Exclusive SMD2000 Sewing Machine

I bought a Brother 3034D Overlocker from you at the end of July this year. I have been using this past month. It was as described on your website; the machine was promptly delivered , amazingly the next day after ordering, delivery was free and I was notified of an accurate time slot. The free gifts included are already in use, your company is much the best deal offered online or anywhere else for that matter. I have already written a review for Trust pilot and wouldn't hesitate to recommend your company to anyone else. Thank you for such a good service.

S.S. Devon (1st September 2017)   Product purchased: Brother 3034D Overlocker

Hi Russell, I just want to say thank you, I received my new machine plus extra extras and I am over the moon. You had me going when the first courier turned up with just the freebies (thank you I love them) but then this afternoon the second courier arrived with machine and Quilter Kit. They messaged me and told me when they were going to deliver and they did exactly as they said, brilliant.

I shall certainly recommend you and your Company to my friends and if you need me to leave feedback anywhere else I would be more than pleased to do so.

Great price and great service many thanks.

P.B. Kent (31st August 2017)

Dear Russell

My wife and visited your showroom on Tuesday afternoon to have a look at some lighter, and more portable, overlockers than her Babylock Evolution. We were met by Kathy, who showed us several models and explained the pro’s and con’s of each. She then suggested we try the Brother models on display and left us to it without any of the usual high pressure sales tactics.

My wife chose the Brother 3034D after sewing with it and being impressed at the quality of stitch and how easy it was to thread. It is a lovely machine.

But what impressed us most was the professional and courteous service of Kathy. She answered all our questions, showed exemplary product knowledge and made purchasing the overlocker a real pleasure.

We would be most grateful if you would pass on our thanks to Kathy.

Kind regards

P & S R (24th August 2017)   Product purchased: Brother 3034D Overlocker

Not a question but a big thank you. I cannot believe how quick I received my over locker. An even bigger surprise is the all the extra things I've found in the packages .... I go to a sewing at Poppy Crafts in Sheerness, where some of the ladies highly recommend you. Thank you very much must now get to know my overlocker, never used one before. A happy customer,

P.C. Kent (22nd August 2017)   Product purchased: Elna 664 Overlocker

I would just like to say how absolutely delighted I am with your service. I sew for a living and when my overlocker suddenly stopped working over the weekend, I needed a replacement quickly. I ordered the Brother 1034D through your website on Sunday evening and it has just arrived at 9am Tuesday morning. Free delivery and a big bag of freebies that I was not expecting! Thank you very much indeed and if I need a sewing machine in the future I will most certainly be a loyal customer.

C.R. Somerset (15th August 2017)

I'm not sure if this is the correct place to leave a review but I want to give you 5 stars. I ordered my Janome DKS30 yesterday afternoon at 3.30 and it arrived this morning at 8.20 together with a goody bag. You were the only company that I could get this particular machine from and it included the extension table and extra quilting feet. Thank you so much and to say I'm impressed is an understatement. I will definitely order from you again in the future.

L.C. Bristol (15th August 2017)   Product purchased: Janome DKS30 Sewing Machine

Thank you for your swift dispatch.
I have been looking your site and trying to decide which machine to go for. Today a chat box opened and with the help of Russell my concerns were dealt with and I was able to proceed with my order.
Thank you again, God bless,

J.S. Ballinaclough (10th August 2017)

Superb and straightforward online experience, from ordering to next-day delivery! Never used a coverstitch machine before but I'd researched and watched many tutorials that I had it up and running straight out of the box within minutes. SMD came highly recommended and I was not disappointed. Thank you!

T.P. London (5th August 2017)   Product purchased: Janome 2000CPX Cover Hemmer

Hello Russell and team , my feet arrived today for the baby lock thank you very much. Once again a wonderful helpful service
a pleasure to deal with , I recommend you often to friends and family and of course in my sewing groups. I would like to say this overlocker is a fantastic smooth machine and so easy to use and most importantly the ease of the jet air threading is fantastic .
thanks again
best regards

S.F. Co Durham (4th August 2017)   Product purchased: Baby Lock Eclipse 2 (BLE1DX-2) Overlocker

A fantastic machine and easy to use.i would recommend without hesitation. I replaced my old machine and was concerned it wouldn't be as good I need not of worried as it's so much better. The freebies were a lovely surprise too. Delivery was excellent within the hour time slot.

L.G. Lancs (2nd August 2017)